Artist Statement

Through my work I would like to raise awareness of the homeless population in Cardiff. With an aim of connecting the viewer to the struggles of living on the street by hopefully creating feelings of empathy towards the homeless. Through painting and collecting found objects, my practice explores identity, the narrative of objects and their role in the construction of someone’s identity. What does it means when that is stripped away? These media interest me because they allow me to immerse myself in my journey through the urban landscape, talking to people about the underlying issues within my work and collecting objects from family, asking the question, what you would take with you if you found yourself living on the street? I have underpinned my work with research concerning the homeless in Cardiff, using conversations, recent news articles and documentaries.



Leave a comment