Inside/Outside: Collage experiments

Scan 32Scan 33Scan 31

To create an extra layer to the portrait pieces I’ve been making. I formed the paper cut on the left of a smashed mirror which I chose because of the links between a person’s mirror reflection and the way people portray themselves to others. To create the piece on the right I added ripped sections my self portrait which I had already digitally added text to as seen by the piece in the middle .This technique creates a distorted view of the portrait and enhances the smashed mirror behind, expressing broken and disjointed emotions with the added content of the illegible text of my inner emotion creates the connection to Inside/Outside.

Scan 34 Scan 38

These are two pieces I made from the paper cut of the smashed mirror and the use of my portrait.To make these pieces I scanned the paper cut into my computer then edited the colour of the glass shards,exploring how colour can effect what emotion is being shown.For the first piece I overlaid a tracing paper copy of my portrait over the smashed mirror piece, although simple I think the outcome is bold and effective.

For the second piece I decide to cut up the portrait and add it to the smashed mirror pear cut which I think is most effective at showing inner and outer emotions and the feeling of insecurity which is part of human nature.



Leave a comment